Recipe: Apple Cranberry Fruit Leather

Fruit Leather. If you think about it, it might not seem too appealing, but once you’ve made it and are eating it, you’re instantly transported to any snack time you ever had around the third grade. You can’t help but be happy while you’re eating it! Making it isn’t laborious at all, but it is time consuming, so save this for a lazy Sunday and make a couple batches at once.

I got this recipe from an old Martha Stewart Living magazine. I usually only pick up the October, November, and December issues of this magazine every year because I’m a sucker for fall and winter baking. While I do think a lot of the things Martha comes up with are borderline OCD, you have to appreciate some of her classic dessert combinations and over the top holiday crafts. I appreciate the combination of apples and cranberries for fruit leather because that packs lots of Vitamin A, C, Potassium in a tasty snack. I did adjust a couple of things in the directions for the recipe to make things a bit more clear. I also substituted agave nectar for honey to make it 100% vegan. Make sure to take a peek every hour or so to make sure the edges aren’t getting brown. I would also suggest getting good quality 100% apple juice to use in this recipe. You know it’s real apple juice if there looks like there’s some “sediment” at the bottom. Don’t worry about it – shake it up and it will be delicious. The ingredients should be fresh pressed juice from apples and their puree. I really like Lakewood organic apple juice. The last note I’d like to make is that whenever fresh cranberries start to appear in grocery stores, I always buy a fresh bag to use and one to freeze (yep, just like it says on the package). This way, I can throw cranberries in muffins, breads, and…fruit leather, all year long

Apple Cranberry Fruit Leather adapted from Martha Stewart Living

3 lbs. apples (Granny Smith, Gala, McIntosh, or Pink Lady, or a mix, are good)

1 C fresh or thawed frozen cranberries

1/3 C apple juice

1 T + 1 t fresh lemon juice

3 T agave nectar

3 T sugar

1. Preheat oven to 200 F. Generously spray 2 13 x 9 rimmed baking pans with cooking spray.

2. In a food processor, puree the apples, cranberries, apple juice, lemon juice, sugar, and agave nectar in two batches. Divide each batch equally between the two pans. The puree in each pan should be about 1/4″ thick. Smooth the top with either an offset spatula or lay a large piece of wax paper on the top of the puree and smooth the puree out as though evening out a crust.

3. Bake the the puree in the oven with the door slightly ajar for anywhere from 3-5 hours, until dry to the touch (mine took 3 hours). Check the fruit leather every hour or so, rotating pans if necessary. Make sure the edges aren’t browning. It will be ready to come out when dry to the touch. Remove from the oven and let set up about an hour until easy to handle. It should be stiff, but still pliable.

4. Remove from pans and trim off uneven or browned edges. Cut into desired size and roll up, if desired.

*Wrap in plastic and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator

*Keeps 1 month

This entry was published on September 29, 2010 at 3:04 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Apple Cranberry Fruit Leather

  1. Hi there! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog like yours take a large amount of work?
    I’m brand new to running a blog however I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start
    a blog so I will be able to share my experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring
    blog owners. Appreciate it!

    • Hi Bernard –

      When you are working on the blog it does take a large amount of time. At this time I am no longer managing this blog to focus on running my business. I’ve left it up so people can access the recipes and in the event that I have time in the future to work on it. Good luck with yours!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Recipe: Apple Cranberry Fruit Leather « --

  3. I always eye the Fruit Roll-Ups at the grocery store and am tempted to buy them, if only for nostalgia’s sake. I’m dying to try this recipe and would love to share it with my niece and nephews (and husband), too.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • what a smart idea to make these! i can’t tell you how obsessed my boyfriend and i are with fruit leathers..but at about 80 cents each for a tiny strip, the price tends to add up fast. i must try making these when i have spare time. i think between the both of us, we can eat it all in under two days : ]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

