cinnamon chocolate cupcakes with chili chocolate frosting

inspiration:Cinco de Mayo, of course!
description:a moist chocolate vinegar cake with a hint of cinnamon, topped with chili chocolate buttercream
what you need:mixing bowls, measuring cups and spoons, cupcake liners, a standard size cupcake pan, a hand or stand mixer, whisks and spatulas
how many: about 12 cupcakes

Let me start off by saying – wow! I can’t believe it’s been about two weeks since my last post. So much has happened since then – Easter Weekend, my birthday, Earth Day, Farmer’s Markets, meeting new Savannah vegetarians and vegans, photo shoots, and trying really hard to cut out sugar and junk food.

Hands down, the best part of my Easter/Birthday weekend was my family coming to see me. They live in North Carolina and I rarely have the time to go visit except for holidays, so this was a great birthday gift. My niece even made my birthday bag with animals thanking me for going vegan. Since I never get to go to the Farmer’s Market(the life of a baker…), I took my whole family to experience it with me. The Forsyth Farmer’s Market has really blossomed and there are so many different vendors that truly care about organic and local foods. It also happened to be Savannah’s Earth Day celebration that same weekend and I was fortunate to meet so many people that are really making a difference(including Savannah Vegetarians and Vegans). And I saw a rain barrel that I need in my life.

I’ve been doing some food photo shoots lately, and all the shooting and editing has crept into my baking and blogging time. In spite of that, I’m having a great time with them and really look forward to doing them every week. The last thing that has made me so silent here is my goal to reduce or eliminate processed sugar and junk food from my life. If you know me, you are very aware that this is a tall order. If you don’t, I’m the kind of person who can down a full package of Oreos in two days(or one), a pint of ice cream in one sitting, or will just shovel anything sweet I can find into my mouth. I am happy to say that in the past two weeks, I have successfully cut out all junk food and most processed sugars. I have allowed myself some dark chocolate here and there, but only a few squares over several days. If anyone has any great snack ideas, I’d love to hear them! Right now, I’m mainly sticking to mixed fruit bowls, apples with peanut butter, and decaf coffee.

Putting all that aside. . .Happy Cinco de Mayo! I love Mexican food, which is strange considering I’m not really a fan of most spicy foods. Of course, not everything Mexican is spicy, but it does seem to be a cornerstone of that cuisine. For this celebration I made chocolate cinnamon cupcakes with chili chocolate frosting. The ones I made for myself were sweetened with agave nectar, but I’m not completely satisfied with the cake yet. Today, I’m going to share a chocolate vinegar cake recipe instead of the agave sweetened cake, with the hope to post the agave cake soon. The chili chocolate buttercream is deliciously creamy and spicy and works great with the chocolate and cinnamon. So grab yourself a taco, a glass of Horchata, and party on!

click recipe to enlarge

This entry was published on May 5, 2011 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Recipes, Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “cinnamon chocolate cupcakes with chili chocolate frosting

  1. Pingback: » Spicy Chocolate Cinnamon Cupcakes! Vegan Yack Attack

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

