sea salted fudgesicles


I have a love hate relationship with summer. I hate the oppressive, sticky heat that is inevitable this far south, but I love tanks tops and sandals, summer sports, the beach, and the residual feeling from high school of being on vacation even if you’re still working. I also love summer food. Fresh vegetables, grilled corn on the cob, fruit crisps and cobblers with fat scoops of vanilla ice cream, and all manner of frozen treats. I’m definitely planning on some popsicles with frozen fruit inside, but first I had to make fudgesicles. Creamsicles were also on my list, but my love affair with salted chocolate took over briefly.

If you aren’t a fan of salted chocolate, simply omit or reduce the salt, but I think even 1/8 t sea salt make a huge difference in the taste (as in, a better difference). Silken tofu adds a little protein and helps keep these frozen treats creamy, while agave nectar provides the perfect amount of sweetness. As far as the chocolate goes, I recommend using semi-sweet or bittersweet – something around 56% or higher.

click on recipe to enlarge

This entry was published on June 20, 2011 at 7:41 pm. It’s filed under Recipes, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “sea salted fudgesicles

  1. Pingback: Home Made Fudgesicles | Suburbhomestead's Blog

  2. Awesome and perfect for summer!

  3. I think I need to run out and get me a popsicle mold!

  4. I bet these are delicious! I make a vegan chocolate mousse that sometimes I pop in the freezer for a cool treat. So I can imagine these are just as good, if not better, than their original counterparts.

  5. These look and sound delicious! I wonder if there’s a way to make a salted caramel frozen treat? Hmm . . .

    Also, I like your writing. Beautiful blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

