life is dulce

It’s been a while.

The last time I wrote, it was still hot and sticky with our thermometers reading somewhere above ninety. After a while I just stopped asking what the temperature was. Now the air has a hint of crispness and a few trees here and there are showing the first of their red, orange, and yellow tinged leaves. Even though it’s officially been fall since the end of September, it’s only recently started feeling like fall. Of course, now that I’ve said it, we’ll have another heat wave.

Despite the finicky weather, I haven’t ceased my obsession with fall food. I cooked butternut squash about a month ago, and my pumpkin bread is in heavy rotation. Maybe it’s because summer seems to drag on infinitely here in Savannah that I feel the need to cram in as many fall dishes as possible. After all, it’s only a few short months until we’re in the throes of “winter.”

Recently, in addition to my love of fall, I’ve added a new obsession : Latin American desserts. Short of churros, chile & cinnamon, dulce de leche, and the occasional flan, I couldn’t have told you what characterized Latin American pastries. As it turns out, there are a whole world of flavors and textures that are, simply put, amazing. I recently made a cheese flan and cajeta (ka-ye-ta), which is a caramel similar to dulce de leche, but is made from goat’s milk instead of cow’s milk. Both are delicious.

In the coming months I look forward to sharing a whole new variety of recipes. As you may have noticed, this blog has changed slightly. I have updated it to include both vegan and vegetarian dishes. Of course, many of these will probably be desserts, but what’s life without them?

This entry was published on October 3, 2011 at 7:36 pm. It’s filed under Vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “life is dulce

  1. Pingback: alfajores: a peruvian treat « The Talking Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

