VanillaCaramelsSmall

a kitchen coated in sugar

I always associate the holidays with a kitchen full of cookies, candies, and cakes.  Every year I try to get better at prepping a few weeks before-hand by making and freezing various cookie doughs, or at least making a timeline for all my holiday baking.

This year, I actually only made a few things for the holidays.  I wanted to focus more on candies, since every year I do cookies.  This time of year is perfect for gifting marshmallows.  What’s better than cozying up with a piping hot cup of cocoa with handmade marshmallows floating on top?

I just made my own coffee extract from Perc coffee and used that to make the coffee marshmallows.  Unfortunately, none of the marshmallows I made are vegetarian (they contain gelatin) but I’m working toward making some that are.

The other thing that reminds me of the holidays is chocolate covered caramels.  Every year, my great aunt & uncle would bring everyone boxes of chocolates.  I waited like a hawk for our family’s box to be passed our way, and generously offered to hold on to it – for safe-keeping, of course. As a kid, I could always pick out which candies were the caramels without looking at the information chart.  I always wondered if my parents ever noticed how their box of chocolates didn’t come with any caramels.

This year, I wanted to make different flavors of caramels, so I went with raspberry, vanilla bean, and chocolate.  They were relatively easy to make, though they do require organization, patience, and a candy thermometer.  The best gift I can give anyone is not eating these before Christmas rolls around.

I hope everyone has a happy holiday and I’ll see you after the first of the year!

This entry was published on December 20, 2011 at 5:54 pm. It’s filed under Food Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “a kitchen coated in sugar

  1. Pingback: Marshmallows Trendy Food For 2012 | Wis U.P. North

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

